Florence: The Foodie’s Paradise

The barrage of treats available in one Florentine cafe
The barrage of treats available in one Florentine cafe

If I’ve said it once, I’ve said it a thousand times: I’m not an art person, at least not in the traditional sense. The art I appreciate is of a more gastronomical nature. So, when in Italy, I was not particularly excited about the prestigious museums. I was more excited about the mandatory three course meals! As such, I wanted to share my enthusiasm for this delicious cultural norm through the beauty of photos (of which I took many because food this delicious is always worth admiring again and again).

The fresh produce you will find strewn about the central market hall
The fresh produce you will find strewn about the central market hall

I mentioned in my previous post that I had my eye on a particular osteria just two doors down from our cute little B&B, but had not made it there the first night due to the ominous call of Gusta’s pizza. But, on this night, I would not be interrupted. Kug, a foodie himself, hardly needed an invitation.

Gelato piled up so high you think it will only melt, but of course it never does because it's gelato and this is Italy after all
Gelato piled up so high you think it will only melt, but of course it never does because it’s gelato and this is Italy after all

Osteria I’ Brincello has earned many a rave review on TripAdvisor, as well as general word of mouth. When asking fellow travelers and locals where one could find a good Italian meal that was both authentic and affordable, I’ Brincello was top of the list. As such, it was a must for me, and a must for Kug.

Hug, looking super stoked at the current state of things...
Kug, looking super stoked at the current state of things…

Now, the way Italians eat dinner is nothing short of amazing. Not only do you typically have some sort of appetizer, or antipasti, but then you follow that up with a pasta dish; and we aren’t talking small portions here either people! After that, you get to the main event, usually the real meat of the meal (pun intended). Finally, just when you think you couldn’t eat another bite, they bring you dessert. If you love to eat as much as I do, then you will agree that this is what heaven must be like: non-stop, delicious food, in your mouth, all the time.

However, even for a full-blown foodie such as myself, my stomach can only accommodate so much. This is where Kug came in. With the addition of another person, we were able to order the four course meal, but pay a one course price (plus a bottle of wine, and maybe an extra dessert..).

Our delicious wild boar pasta. Seriously, so good!
Our delicious wild boar pasta. Seriously, so good!

So, at dinner, we started out with a couple fried raviolis, stuffed with pear and gorgonzola, a different sort of appetizer for me, but it was still quite tasty. Then, for our pasta course, we ordered the homemade tagliatelle pasta with a wild boar sauce, and let me tell you I’ve never had boar so I can’t compare the experience, but it was pretty dang delicious! And between the two of us, we were struggling to save space for the main course the portion was so big! But of course, we managed, and out came this perfect plate of steak on a bed of arugula, with parmesan cheese sliced off to the side. So tender, so juicy, so perfect. I didn’t think that meal could get any better, but, like I told you, then comes dessert. And in this case, we did not share the one. In fact, of the two desserts available, we got both. Between the tiramisu and the chocolate cake with a very intense citrus orange sauce, we both preferred the tiramisu but there was nothing wrong with either choice.

Hello, steak. Get in my belly!
Hello, steak. Get in my belly!

Following our meal, we started talking with our waiter about how much we enjoyed the food and the service. He thanked us profusely and then brought out the chef, who insisted that we all share in a nightcap of limoncello, a traditional Italian digestive. This was my first experience with this scrumptious little syrup of liqueur, but it would not be my last! So, as the chef, myself, Kug, our waiter, and another server all raised our glass, I took a selfie to remember the first time I had a real Italian meal, with a good friend, where we met the chef, and got a free shot to boot! Couldn’t have asked for a better experience.

Gang's all here!
Gang’s all here!
2 thoughts on “Florence: The Foodie’s Paradise

Leave a Reply

